In 1923, Judge E. T. Cameron purchased the cave property where he had been a guide at the cave as a young man. Cameron was the first to establish specific tour routes in the cave, constructed the first building on the property for ticket sales, and advertised the tour as "Mark Twain Cave". In 1936, electric lighting was added to the cave by the Cameron family.
Today, descendants of Judge Cameron continue to own and operate the Mark Twain Cave. Another cave, Cameron Cave, which was discovered by Judge Cameron and his son Arch in 1925, is also open for tours, left in its natural state and only visible by lantern light. The Mark Twain Cave Complex now features a 99-site campground, hiking trails, Village Hollow General Store, Cave Hollow West Winery, Cameron's Candies, Sticks Stones & Bones interactive gem stone shop, and performances of "Mark Twain Live" featuring Jim Waddell.